Tuesday, 15 August 2017

August TBR

I know August is almost over, but I'm still going to post a TBR for the second part of the month. After finishing my Master thesis, I got in a huge reading slump plus the weather is miserable in Belgium. I love reading outside in the summer but I haven't been able to with the exception of a couple of days. So here is my optimistic TBR!

1. Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel 


Currently reading this one!

2. Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb


This will be quite the challenge, I hope I can make at least some progress. I'm currently at page 300 and I was really enjoying it but had to put it down more than a month ago.

3. I hope to read at least one other book over 500 pages

4. I would like to read one classic


Instead of reading, I went to a couple of bookstores, so there are a couple of book hauls coming soon!

Which books do you plan on reading this month? Leave your thoughts down below!

Monday, 7 August 2017

July Wrap Up

In addition to a reading slump, I did not have a lot of time to read this month because I had to write my master thesis. At this point, I'm almost done with it, thankfully! This is what I read in the month of July!

1. Descender, Vol. 1: Tin Stars by Jeff Lemire


Really enjoyed this science fiction comic! 4,5 stars!

2. Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1) by Leigh Bardugo


Yes, you are reading this right, I finally read Six of Crows! Inej is my favourite character! I do believe this book was a bit too hyped up for me (or this could just be the reading slump talking) but I still enjoyed it! 4 stars!

Currently reading the sequel!

3. I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After by Skottie Young


Reread. Still love this comic! 5 stars! 
Also, I made my friend, brother and his girlfriend read it too, and they all enjoyed it! Even though, the last two normally do not read at all. So I consider this a victory! :)

4. I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 2: Fluff My Life by Skottie Young


Not as great or funny as the first one, but I'm still looking forward to the third volume! 4 stars.

5. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon


3 stars! Adorable but it did feel like insta love at times. Plus, I'm not really a contemporary young adult reader and this just proves it. I did really enjoy the Indian culture, I have no idea if it is accurate, but I would love to learn more about India.

6. Giant Days, Vol. 3 (Giant Days #3) by John Allison


This is such a fun comic series! 5 stars! Highly recommend it!

Which books did you recently read? Have read any of the ones mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you enjoyed this blog post, don't hesitate to subscribe to my blog via Bloglovin or e-mail!

Sunday, 30 July 2017

A Very Late June Wrap Up

I'm incredibly late by posted my June wrap at the end of July, but here it is anyway. If you want to know why I haven't posted much this month, check out my previous post Life and Blog Update. I'm going to keep this short, so here are the books I read in June! Finally!

1. Romancing the Duke (Castles Ever After, #1) by Tessa Dare

For some reason, I was incredibly into historical romance novels in the begining of the month. Really enjoyed Tessa Dare's books. I gave this one 3 stars.

2. If I Only Had a Duke (The Disgraceful Dukes, #2) by Lenora Bell 

I wasn't as impressed with this one. I gave it 2 stars and decided to stick to Tessa Dare's novels.

3. Giant Days, Vol. 2 (Giant Days, #2) by John Allison


I really enjoy this comic series! I'm sad they changed the art style though. 4 stars! Really recommend it!

4. Nasty Women by 404 Ink


My first non-fiction book and Netgalley arc! I'm so proud of myself! :)
Really enjoyed this one and I would highly recommend this collection of feminist essays! You can find my review here.

5. Say Yes to the Marquess (Castles Ever After, #2) by Tessa Dare

This was my least favourite Tessa Dare novel so far. Sadly, I was quite bored by it at times. My Goodreads rating is 3 stars but it's more a 2,5 stars for me.

6. When a Scot Ties the Knot (Castles Ever After, #3) by Tessa Dare

This book was hilarious! 4 stars! Recommend it! 
You can read all these Tessa Dare books separately, you do not need to read them in order.

7. And I Darken (The Conqueror's Saga, #1) by Kiersten White 


3 stars. You can find my review here.

8. Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2) by Kiersten White 


I'm so grateful I got approved to read this arc through Netgalley! 4 stars! You can find my review here.

9. Red Rising (Red Rising, #1) by Pierce Brown


Last but not least, I finally finished Red Rising! I started it in May, but for some reason didn't get past page 40. I borrowed this book from a friend of mine who loved it, so I had to give it another chance. And I did end up enjoying the second half of the book so much more! 


Which books did you recently read? Have you read any of the ones mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

Also, if you enjoyed this post, I would appreciate it if you subscribed to my blog via Bloglovin' or e-mail!

Friday, 28 July 2017

Life and Blog Update

Hi everyone!

As you may have noticed, I've not been active on my blog for over a month now and I would like to give a little explanation. I've been working on my thesis which is due next week, I'm almost finished but it's a lot of work. Secondly, I've also had a relaxing trip to Spain with my family and I don't have an internet connection over there.
I have read a couple of books since my last post and I can't wait to tell you guys about them!
I'm currently reading Crooked Kingdom, Wild and Ship of Magic. Which books are you reading?

I can't say when my next post will be published, but I will be back in the land of bloggers after the fourth of August, which is the date my thesis is due. Thanks for sticking with me for this long without any posts!


Have a great week and happy reading!

Tuesday, 27 June 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I've Read So Far in 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week bloggers post their top ten on a previously suggested topic. This week's topic is top ten books I've read this year.

1. The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood


I absolutely loved this book! I'm currently watching the TV show and it's amazing as well! I definitely recommend both! 

I'm looking forward to read more Atwood in the near future! Recommendations are always welcome!

You can find my review here.

2. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi


This book was amazing! I forced my mom to buy it in Dutch and she really enjoyed it as well and passed it on to my grandmother and she's enjoying it so much she wants me to make a list of books she should read which made my little reader heart so happy!

3. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty 


This was definitely a pleasant surprise since this is a genre I almost never pick up. I've seen two episodes of the TV show and I really liked them as well. I got my mom the Dutch translation for Christmas again she passed it around in our family and this month my aunt told us she liked it so much, she immediately bought all Liane Moriarty's other books. I'm kind of impressed my book recommendations to my mom are appreciated by the rest of my family as well! Because this actually has never happened before.

You can find my review here.

4. Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor


This book is a gem! If you're only planning to read one young adult novel this year, let it be this one! You won't regret it! I didn't know anything about this book when I started reading it and I feel that's the best way to go! The only thing I'll say is that Strange is such a precious bookworm! I loved him from the start.

5. The Arrival by Shaun Tan


This is a beautiful graphic novel without any words. It's stunning!

6. Geekerella by Ashley Poston 


This one stole my heart because it portrays conventions so truthfully! I only started going to conventions last October but it certainly won't be my last! And also, FIREFLY references!

You can find my review here.

7. Giant Days, Vol. 1 (Giant Days, #1) by John Allison


This comic is about three girls going to university and it's a really fun read!

8. Shades of Magic trilogy by V.E. Schwab


I read the entire trilogy this year and I can't get enough of this world and these characters! If you are looking for a good fantasy trilogy, you should definitely check this one out!

9. Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett


This one is a modern young adult retelling of The Shop Around the Corner or You've Got Mail. It's a really cute romance and there are a lot of references to old Hollywood movies, which I completely adored! Great summer read!

You can find my review here.

10. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery


I read this for the very first time! I did watch the Megan Follows often but I never got around to reading the book. I'm so glad I finally read it because this was the perfect comfort read!



Which books did you like to most in 2017? Have you read any of the ones mentioned above? Or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you want to read more of these post, don't forget to subscribe via e-mail or Bloglovin'!

Saturday, 24 June 2017

Stacking the Shelves: Netgalley Edition

Stacking the Shelves is co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews. Each week bloggers post the books they purchased or received. I just recently started requesting books on Netgalley and these are all arc's I've been approved to read. With the exception of four books, most of these are pdf's, which I really struggle to read.

1. Nasty Women by 404 Ink



This is a collection of essays about what it means to be a woman in the 21st century, most if not all of these were written after the US elections last year. I really liked this book and I highly recommend it! You can find my review here.

2. Before the Rains by Dinah Jefferies



Sadly I didn't enjoy this book and I decided to not finish it in the end. You can find my review here.

3. Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2) by Kiersten White



I enjoyed this more than the first book in the trilogy. You can find my review for the first book, And I Darken, here and my review for the sequel, Now I Rise, here.

4. They Can't Kill Us All: The Story of Black Lives Matter by Wesley Lowery



This is another non-fiction book and I've started this already and I am now 20% into it. Review to come soon!

5. Idaho by Emily Ruskovich



I've also started this book but I did not realize this was set during the winter as the blurb talks about a hot summer day. Since there is currently a heatwave in Belgium, I don't really enjoy reading about snow at this time. 

6. A Poison Dark and Drowning (Kingdom on Fire, #2) by Jessica Cluess



I'm really excited to read this one! You can find my review of the first book, A Shadow Bright and Burning, here.

7. The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6) by Danielle L. Jensen



Can't wait to read this one! I loved Stolen Songbird but I haven't read the rest of the trilogy yet, and I think I need to finish them first before I read The Broken Ones. Definintely doing it this summer, though!

8. How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry 



9. The Indigo Girl by Natasha Boyd





I also got approved to read Rotherweird and Don't Stop Me Now but they got archived before I had the chance to download them. I have purchased the latter and will review it this summer, though!

Which books did you get recently? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to?

Friday, 23 June 2017

Review: Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2) by Kiersten White

Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she’s always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn’t getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.

What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu’s subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it’s no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. Radu longs for his sister’s fierce confidence—but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?

As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. 


-- Goodreads.com --

This review may contain spoilers for the first book, And I Darken.

I received an arc from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. You can find my review for the first book, And I Darken here. I would like to thank the publisher, Random House Children's, for approving me to read this book, I’m very grateful for this opportunity.

Things I liked about Now I Rise:

- It is more action-packed than the first book, even though it is still very slow paced. A lot of the plot still revolves around politics, though.

- We got to know some minor characters from the first book better, like Hunyadi and Cyprian. I was immediately drawn to their storylines. I wished to see more of Oana, though. We were introduced to some amazing new characters as well, like Daciana and Guistiniani. I will let you discover these ones yourself.

- We see less of Mehmed!

- Kiersten White amped up the violence and the cruelty factor. If you thought the first book contained a lot of horrors, you better prepare yourself for the second one.

- The book alternates between a Lada chapter and a Radu chapter. At first, I was only interested in Lada's story, I thought Radu's part was quite boring, not much happened and his side was all politics. About 60 % into the book, things changed. I found myself enjoying Radu's chapters the most as they too became more action-packed.

- Radu slowly began to think more for himself instead of just blindly following Mehmed.


Things I didn't like:

- First of all, all these books in the trilogy are too long, in my opinion. They could and probably should have been a lot shorter.

- Mehmed has become even more insufferable, he and I will never get along.

- I would like to know more about all the secondary characters. I want to know more about Nicolai, Bogdan, Cyprian, etc. I feel they could have been more developed.

- Most of my dislikes from the first book haven't really changed in the sequel. The first book nicely set up the events in Now I Rise, but I'm not sure what is going to happen in the third book. I feel this could have been a duology.

- I would like to see more interaction between Lada and Radu.


I gave this book 3,5 stars because I liked it better than the first one. So, if you enjoyed And I Darken, you should definitely check out Now I Rise!

Publication date: June 27th 2017

Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you liked this post and would like to read more of these in the future, follow my blog via e-mail or Bloglovin'!

Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Series I've Been Meaning To Start But Haven't

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week bloggers post their top ten on a previously suggested topic. This week's topic is top ten series I've been meaning to start reading but haven't so far. I own the first book in all the following series, I just haven't picked them up yet. It was actually quite difficult to just pick ten series because there are so many series I want to start!

1. Greatcoats by Sebastien de Castell


2. Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne by Brian Staveley 


3. Lightbringer by Brent Weeks


4. The Riyria Revelations by Michael J. Sullivan


5. Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson


6. The Others by Anne Bishop


7. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater 


8. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir


9. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon 


10. Study by Maria V. Snyder



I've had Poison Study on my e-reader for two years now, but still haven't read it yet.


Which series do you want to start? Have you read any of the one mentioned above or are you planning to? Which series should I start next? Leave your thoughts down below!

Saturday, 17 June 2017

Stacking the Shelves: May Book Haul Part 2

Stacking the Shelves is co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews. Each week bloggers post the books they purchased or received. Last week I posted the first part of my May book haul which you can find here. This is the second part of my May book haul because I got way too many books last month... I just couldn't resist, you know how that is, right?

1. Flame in the Mist (Flame in the Mist #1) by Renee Ahdieh


I got this one in my Fairyloot box and it is one of my most anticipated books of the year! I hope to get to it soon!

2. A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas


This was my most anticipated book and sadly I felt really disappointed. You can find my review here.

The next four books I got from the bookdepository for 20 euros, which I think is a pretty great bargain!

3. Traitor's Blade (Greatcoats #1) by Sebastien de Castell 


I've had this book on my radar for a while and when I saw it on the bookdepository for less than six euros, I couldn't resist buying it.

4. The Veil (Devil's Isle #1) by Chloe Neill


5. The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld


I've heard good things about this one! Can't wait to read it!

6. Pomfret Towers (Barsetshire #6) by Angela Thirkell


I've been wanting to read an Angela Thirkell book for a while now. This is the sixth book in a series though. Can anyone tell me if I need to read the others first?


I also got five e-books last month! I've been craving some romance novels lately, you can definitely leave some recommendations below!

7. Don't Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman


I actually got approved to read this on Netgalley but back then I didn't realize I had to download it before it disappeared. And it did disappear, so when I saw the e-book for less than 3 euros, I got it without thinking twice! I'll be reviewing this one soon!

8. Bully (Fall Away #1) by Penelope Douglas

I got these Penelope Douglas books because I watched PeaceLoveBooksxo on Youtube recommending them often. And they were cheap.

9. Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas 

10. Romancing the Duke (Castles Ever After #1) by Tessa Dare

I actually really enjoyed this one! I'll be reading more of this author in the future! I decided to try these out after watching April from Aprilius Maximus on Youtube talking about it.

11. If I Only Had a Duke (The Disgraceful Dukes #2) by Lenora Bell 

Once again on the recommendation of Jessica from PeaceLoveBooksxo.


Which books did you get recently? Have you read any of these books or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you liked this post and which to get updates on when I post new things, follow me on Bloglovin', Blogger or via e-mail!